| Skip to main content | Skip to navigation |

Refereed Track: Search

The Web consists of billions of pages containing insights and information regarding all endeavors of humankind. This information is heterogeneous in language, style, focus, content, linking behavior, purpose, and format. Search engines are great tools to help users explore and access this complex and unstructured information on the Web, and they continue to improve their quality through substantive breakthroughs both within the keyword search paradigm and beyond it. The Search track welcomes contributions related to any area of web search, including the following:

  • Citation analysis
  • Distributed and peer-to-peer search
  • Domain-specific search
  • Indexing
  • Link-based search techniques
  • Metasearch
  • Natural language interfaces to search
  • Personalized search
  • Blog and online-community search
  • Multimedia search
  • Query processing
  • Ranking
  • Search engine design and architecture
  • Search interfaces
  • Search query modeling
  • Search-based characterization of the web
  • Summarization

Accepted Papers

Reiner Kraft
Chi Chao Chang
Farzin Maghoul
Ravi Kumar
Jian-Tao Sun
Xuanhui Wang
Dou Shen
Hua-Jun Zeng
Zheng Chen
Tamás Sarlsó
András A. Benczúr
Károly Csalogány
Dániel Fogaras
Balázs Rácz
Ziv Bar-Yossef
Maxim Gurevich
Nominated for Best Paper Award
Alexandros Ntoulas
Marc Najork
Mark Manasse
Dennis Fetterly
Beverly Yang
Glen Jeh
Mehran Sahami
Timothy D. Heilman
André Luiz da Costa Carvalho
Paul - Alexandru Chirita
Edleno Silva de Moura
Pável Calado
Wolfgang Nejdl
Soumen Chakrabarti
Kriti Puniyani
Sujatha Das
Reid Andersen
Kevin J. Lang
Rosie Jones
Benjamin Rey
Omid Madani
Wiley Greiner
Matthew Richardson
Amit Prakash
Eric Brill
Baoning Wu
Vinay Goel
Brian D. Davison


  • Junghoo John Cho, UC Los Angeles, USA (Vice Chair)
  • Torsten Suel, Polytechnic University, Brooklyn, USA (Deputy Chair)

PC Members

  • Junghoo, John Cho, UC Los Angeles, USA (Vice Chair)
  • Torsten Suel, Polytechnic University, Brooklyn, USA (Deputy Chair)
  • Andrei Broder, IBM Watson, USA
  • Andrew Tomkins, Yahoo Research, USA
  • Anna Karlin, University of Washington, USA
  • Berthier Ribeiro-Neto, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil
  • Brian Davison, Lehigh University, USA
  • C. Lee Giles, Penn State University, USA
  • Christopher Olston, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Eric Brill, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Gary Flake, MSN, USA
  • Gerhard Weikum, Saarbruecken, Germany
  • Justin Zobel, RMIT, Australia
  • Kevin Chang, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Marti Hearst, University of California at Berkeley, USA
  • Masaru Kitsuregawa, University of Tokyo
  • Monika Henzinger, Google Inc.
  • Narayanan Shivakumar, Google Inc
  • Nick Craswell, Microsoft Research Cambridge, UK
  • Ricardo Baeza-Yates, University of de Chile, Chile
  • Ron Fagin, IBM Almaden, USA
  • Sebastiano Vigna, University of Milano, Italy
  • Soumen Chakrabarti, IIT Bombay, India
  • Susan Dumais, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Sridhar Rajagopalan, IBM Almaden, USA
  • Thorsten Joachims, Cornell University, USA
  • Ziv Bar-Yossef, Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
  • Frank McSherry, Microsoft Research, USA
  • Panagiotis Ipeirotis, New York University, USA
  • S. Ravi Kumar, IBM Almaden, USA
  • Ji-Rong Wen, Microsoft Research Asia

Additional Reviewers

  • Carlos Castillo
  • Georges Dupret
  • Thomas Finley
  • Zaiqing Nie
  • Filip Radlinski
  • Benyah Shaparenko

Organised by

ECS Logo

in association with

BCS Logo ACM Logo

Platinum Sponsors

Sponsor of The CIO Dinner

Valid XHTML 1.0! IFIP logo WWW Conference Committee logo Web Consortium logo Valid CSS!